Hearts all aglow.

It’s Christmastime so I’m going to use that as an appropriate title.

There’s a viral post on Tumblr that says something about how fun it is to see someone get all excited about what/who they love, ramble on about it, apologize for being a weirdo, but still be so happy to share what it is that, well, makes their life.

We’re broken records when it comes to what’s on our minds, so we may as well chase after the things we believe are most important. In fact, we ought to fill that airspace with what inspires us to live and live fully.

Feetsies

It’s essential in the trading of these stories that we are doing just that—trading. Even going about it entirely selfishly, it’s so good to hear what’s tugging on other people’s hearts and minds. What are their questions? What are their triumphs? What fears are you being so trusted to hear?

In her book A Return to Love, Marianne Williamson wrote,

You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

Yesterday, I arrived an hour late to a brunch. It was a celebration of a group of interns I’ve been a part of since August/September. I love my boss and am whole-heartedly honored to work under the women (and man) that I do. I had been nervous and excited for the brunch for different reasons (poached eggs that got photographed being a plus), but my tardy entrance to the group meant it was my turn to say what I had loved and what had been hardest about interning thus far.

I don’t even remember all that I rambled out, and I was out of breath as all these eyes I admire were on me. (And I had run in 4-inch ankle boots past a creepy singing guy. I just always feel the need to make myself uncomfortable. Okay.)

I work and am a student in a field where lifestyle and career cross over a lot. Personal passion tempered with less personal performance come hand in hand as a designer and communicator. So even with a head well-versed in branding and neatly tied up motivational blurbs, I was spinning a little while spilling my heart.

“I’m at the point in my life where I know the least about what I want to do when I grow up,” I began. I finished saying something about how impactful it’s been to me to be a part of a magazine that seeks to be forthright about spreading good—and that that can be successful, stoking up a response of embrace from others.

When it came to sharing what’s been hardest, I boiled the messiness of it down to issues of comparison.

I’ve never felt more excited to stretch into the role that I get to call mine. And I’ve never felt less troubled to have no name for it.

Pursue what it is you’ve been gifted to love and be equipped to support. Occupy your space. Fill it with joy. Let your heart glow with what you find beautiful.

A person who has good thoughts cannot ever be ugly. You can have a wonky nose and a crooked mouth and a double chin and stick-out teeth, but if you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.

—Roald Dahl

Sup pudding cup?

