If you’re hurting / Take care

I found a cool little post reaching out on Tumblr to anyone who may be struggling with a certain addiction. We all have our vices/pains no matter how severe, and upon further research, it turns out the tool offered, the “HALT” method is actually prevalent in reference to raising children.

So. You hungry, angry, lonely or tired?

The relation of this simple check for little ones is humbling and can even be insulting in regards to our problems as…not-babies, but we still have the same physical weaknesses (NEEDS, people) as our former, squishier selves. You know, “You’re not you, when you’re hungry.”

We need simple stuff like food and rest, so let’s chat about some simple re-routes for self-care and wiser stewardship of our mindsets huh?

HALT

*Beyonce voice* STOP for a minute.~

Problems feel more and more complex as we age and, yeah, on one level they really do. But the same measure of pain/despair we can feel mirrors the choice we have to stop, and make a better move. One that makes tomorrow even a little better.

Hungry?
BREAKFAST. STAT. Do not be a hero thinking you can commit to more than you have fueled yourself up for. Do not skip meals to evade a feeling of usefulness. You must take care of your nutritional needs, and that includes regular, good-for-you meals. Don’t leave hunger hanging.

Angry?
Find someone you trust and tell them something is bothering you. Most likely the worst knot in it is feeling like something, just something, is not right and you can’t understand it.

Think about whether the people you’re with right now actually have anything to do with that problem besides being supportive friends. If not, don’t suppress anger continuing to press for answers from them that they don’t have for you.

We assume a lot of the time that if we know the problem and the issues with our own attitude we can just solve it, and by translation feel totally fine about it. That’s something I’ve struggled hard with this last year, butting heads with a brick wall.

Let go at least of the idea you can have it all together or that anybody else can and does.

Lonely?
I hate forgetting where I’ve read things. But somewhere I read that we don’t really go on Facebook when we’re satisfied, loving life or feeling victorious. So maybe some people are very well-adjusted and go on to give shout-outs to huge blessings in their lives, but more often than not nowadays we mindlessly scroll around on FB or Instagram when we’re idle or, yeah, a little lonely.

As a check-yoself-before-you-wreck-yoself move, I delete social media apps on my phone at will, and when I check Facebook, I go directly by the link to my profile as not to even accidentally see something that’s none of my business. It looks really narcissistic in my web history being automatically routed to my face over and over again, but who cares? Only I see it, and I have to be the one stepping up to guard my heart and mind.

Even with that step, I ask myself if I have any remote need aside from boredom to check it (such as a message I should reply to) and then 90% of the time, I don’t. Yeah can I get an amen for that?!

Tired?
As a very bad night-owl, my lesson here is not to exasperate my loved ones by talking on and on into the night in search of immediate resolutions (or just company lolol). I need to show love to them by practicing patience, in some cases iron-clad forgiveness, and in probably most, a quicker turn to prayer.

In terms of battling addictions of all kinds, I don’t think sobriety is reduced to abstaining from alcohol, but is actively being good stewards of the time, body and companions we’re so blessed to have—fighting the dragons where we can.

Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you. Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour. Resist him, firm in your faith, knowing that the same kinds of suffering are being experienced by your brotherhood throughout the world. And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.

1 Peter 5:6-10. Stay sober, my friends. 👊

I used to think I was the strangest person in the world but then I thought there are so many people in the world, there must be someone just like me who feels bizarre and flawed in the same ways I do. I would imagine her, and imagine that she must be out there thinking of me too. Well, I hope that if you are out there and read this and know that, yes, it’s true I’m here, and I’m just as strange as you.

Quote by Frida Kahlo cited in Womankind. Magazine found at a news store in Downtown Davis, CA. And psh yeah I bought it! Honestly can’t give you a review on it quite yet, but so far it’s cool.

Sup pudding cup?

