A few favorite quotes as of late:

I can’t find my quote book.

I have one thin blue Rifle Paper Co. notebook I’ve used since about freshman year of college to collect quotes in. No context or commentary aside from who it comes from, it is simply a collection of snippets. Many of them are rather long but I feel most effective in delivery of truth in their fuller forms.

My phone bursts at the seams of storage with all the photos I cram in it, and many pictures are just screenshots of quotes that have stopped me in my tracks.

Even if they aren’t the most particularly comforting of words, I find that when I return to my quote book (if I ever find it…), I feel a lot better after flipping through a few pages. Usually I end up going through all of them.

So until that flowery little booklet makes its appearance, here are some quotes that have been either hiding in my photos or in my mind.

Hurry is the great enemy of spiritual life.

Dallas Willard (via John Mark Comer’s Twitter)

Hurry is a form of violence practiced on time.

Eugene Peterson (also via John Mark Comer’s Twitter)

Until you value yourself, you won’t value your time. Until you value your time, you will not do anything with it.

M. Scott Peck (via something I’m very excited and hopeful you’ll read soon)

Literally nothing makes sense in life unless you’re to be a servant.

Lauren Franklin ❤️

I am made in the image of God. I will not forfeit that for pseudo-liberation. Liberation absent of God is no liberation at all.

Sho Baraka (via Jackie Hill Perry’s Twitter)

When you have all that you need, build a longer table, not a higher fence.

Jenna Kutcher

Shyness has a strange element of narcissism, a belief that how we look, how we perform, is truly important to other people.

— unknown (via @blairtaft on Instagram)

You ask me, “What is the greatest act of faith?” To me is to look in the mirror of God’s word, and see all my faults, all my sin, all my shortcomings and to believe that God loves me exactly as he says he does.

Paul Washer (via my friend Claudia’s Tumblr heheh)

Prayer is a constant reminder than the human being is not autonomous. Prayer, in its most basic form, is the surging of the human spirit in its weakness, grasping at the Spirit of God in His strength.

Ravi Zacharias (also via Claudia’s Tumblr!)

No significant long-term fruitfulness in this fallen world comes without obstacles and resistance. To serve others in a meaningful way will mean to encounter friction soon enough. Patience, then, is the virtue of soul that helps us persevere in doing good, and not be scared off from worthy causes by opposition, toil, and fatigue.

David Mathis (via Desiring God: God Works in Those Who Wait)

Before there can be fullness there must be emptiness. Before God can fill us with Himself we must first be emptied of ourselves. It is this emptying that brings the painful disappointment and despair of self which so many persons have complained just prior to their new and radiant experience.

A.W. Tozer (How to Be Filled with the Holy Spirit, quote via Tumblr) | emphasis by me for mic drop of hopefulness

Sup pudding cup?

